Tuesday, December 7, 2010

big blessings in little packages...




As I sat on the couch deliriously sleepy, nursing my sweet baby girl at 4 am this morning, I sat with a huge smile on my face. The newness & wonder of having a baby in the house hasn't worn off yet & I hope it never does! I just sat there amazed at how tiny she is and so perfect. Taking in the sweet little sounds she makes, the way she looks at me while nursing, & grabs at me with her tiny little hands. I think that Chad gets annoyed with me at times (although he never complains!) because I'll ask him to stop what he's doing & just come & stare at one of the kids with me. I just don't want to miss anything! I'm so thankful to be able to have a baby all over again. I know it sounds crazy, but I'm thrilled to change those poopy diapers & wake up at all hours of the night to feed her. I think I appreciate it more now. Not that I wasn't just as thrilled to have Kaylee &Trevor. I just think that I realize how quickly they do grow & am older & more able to see what is important now. I don't have it all figured out, by any means, but I'm learning! I'm learning that it doesn't matter if my house is super clean or if there are 3 loads of laundry on the couch that need to be folded & put away, or the floor needs mopping....the list goes on & on, but you get the point. What's important is my family, loving my kids & spending time with them, teaching them. All the cleaning can wait, my kids can't. It's not always so easy. I'm the first one to admit that I'm not the most laid back Mommy in the world (ok, so that's a huge understatement!) And it wasn't quite as easy to sit nursing with a huge smile on my face at 12 this afternoon with Trevor hanging off the side of the chair & constantly bumping me & asking when we can eat, what's for lunch or telling me that his stomach is growling...and trying to get some schooling done with Kaylee while looking around at the huge pile of laundry on the couch, the sink & counters overflowing with dishes & the mess left from breakfast..knowing that I'd have to clean that up before I'd have room to work on lunch for the kids. It's a bit overwhelming..ok a lot overwhelming, but I wouldn't change anything. I'm so thankful to have not only one precious little blessing, but 3! And a wonderful loving husband who loves us & takes care of us!


Lord, help me not to take for granted the time I have with the precious little ones you have blessed me with. Help me to prioritize & do the things that matter first. Help me to teach them your truths.....

Tuesday, November 30, 2010

Trevor's birthday, Thanksgiving & Thankfulness...





Hooray for 5!! We celebrated Trevor's 5th birthday in the church basement. Not the coziest of places, but it was fun! The weather was horrible with highs hovering not far above 0. Trevor wanted a 'outside' party with games & a pinata...so the church basement was our compromise! It turned out great. Lots of kids who had been cooped up inside due to the super cold weather....they all had a blast...& so did we!


Thanksgiving was celebrated with friends here. Lots of food & great company. I'm so very thankful for good friends here. They make it a little easier to be so far from family during the Holidays.

I think this is one of my all time favorite pictures! 3 precious little smiling faces...

*I just realized that I didn't take any pictures on Thanksgiving Day...how sad..it was Avery's first holiday too! :(

I thought it would be fun to ask the kiddos what they were thankful for & post...so here's the results:
Kaylee: God, family, the world, friends, our kitties (Jackie & Jasper), that Daddy works so we can have money, the heat lamp to keep the kitties warm, that Daddy's foot isn't broken (Chad has 'trauma induced gout'), our house, my bed, my toys, our phones & computer, my stuffed animals, flashlights, that Mommy can home school me, clothes to wear............
Trevor: My Mommy & Daddy, flashlights so we can see in the dark, rain so the flowers can get water (I don't think he's noticed that there is 2 feet of snow burying any sign of flowers for the next 8 months!), our kitties, God, the world......

I am personally thankful for God's grace & mercy, my wonderful husband & precious kiddos, family & friends, good health & that winter doesn't last forever!



The whole gang!

My little helpers!

Tuesday, November 16, 2010

It's that time of year again.....


No, I'm not talking about the 'holiday season'. I'm talking about the time of year that makes me want to fly south! It's cold, & so gray here. I feel totally out of place as (most) people around me are super excited for the snowy season to begin. I do NOT feel so inclined to take on any snowy type sports involving flying down a snow covered mountain dotted with trees, with giant skis on my feet. Nor do I want to take my children up the mountain to experience it. I will just stick with sledding down the small hills..thank you. But, let me tell you of our last 'sledding' experience. There is a hill on the property beside our house that we get permission to sled down in the winter. It's not too far out, so we suited up the kiddos..let me describe that for my Southern friends & family....You start with one kiddo..send them to the bathroom..then layer on snowsuit, mittens (which takes several tries to get the thumb in the right hole!) jacket, hat, socks & snow boots..then you move on the second child & start the process over again..while the first child is whining that he/she is hot (because after all it IS 80 degrees inside & they are dressed for freezing weather!) So, you continue to work on the second child & send the first one outside..(lots of whining that they don't want to go out by themselves..blah blah) finally they relent & go..& you once again continue to work on the second child ..who happens to be SUPER picky about how the snowsuit & jacket fits over the long sleeved shirt he/she has on..& who is now whining about being sweaty as well. Then you hear the first child screaming from outside that they need to go potty...You finish suiting up the first child & send them out...then you bring in the first child who is now covered in snow from head to toe...undress them as little as possible & track melting snow all the way to the bathroom & take care of business. Walk back to the back door mopping up puddles of melted snow along the way & suit the kiddo back up..(see above process). By now the other child (the second one) is whining because their mittens are now filled with snow & their arms are freezing. You take off mittens beat them out, dry off hands & poke them back into mittens...then prepare to dress yourself in snow pants, jacket, hats & mittens...while trying not to step in any puddles of melted snow in the floor...& sweating.
OK, so now..back to our sledding experience..after all of the above, we finally make it outside & realize that the kids aren't able to walk in the snow, because it is hip high on us, the grown ups. So, we decide that we will pull them out there on the sleds. Each parent takes a sled & a whinny, frozen child. You must hold the sled still while they climb on..which takes several tries. (just imagine water boarding for you southern readers) finally you get the child loaded & make a few steps...with great effort to walk in the hip deep snow while pulling a 50 lb. child on the sled behind you...before they fall off & you restart the loading process, with the whining frozen child. After several minutes of this you turn to look & see how far you've gone..only to realize that you could still spit on the back porch..so you tread on..repeating the loading process several more times...until you hear those dreaded words..."MOOOOOMMMY, I need to go POOOP!" You yell at the poor whining frozen child that they will just have to wait & continue on our trek to the hill. After what seems like an eternity...& whining (not only the kids', but yours now too!) ..The parents discuss what it will be like to get up the hill...hmmm, look back now & it's about the same distance to the porch as it is to the hill. We are both exhausted from trodding along in the hip deep snow & loading the kids (who are whinny, frozen & now both have to go potty) a gazillion times onto the sleds. We know that IF we ever make it to the hill it will be oh so hard to climb the hill....So, yup...we gave up & headed back to the porch. ....and then there is the unsuiting & drying up puddles of melted snow & finding spots to hang all the melting, snow covered suits & jackets, hats, mittens, scarves..etc., etc.....
I must admit that the snow is beautiful when it first starts to fall, usually in late November. It covers the beautiful blue spruce trees in our yard & sparkles on the ground. And even on the darkest nights, it's all lit up outside with gleaming white snow. It's quite breath taking at times! It's beautiful to have snow on the ground at Christmas and New Years...Valentines Day...by March it's getting kinda old..then there is Easter...yup, still snow on the ground...and many many times its STILL on the ground in our yard in May! Then, let me remind you that it does have to go somewhere when it melts...Our yard is flooded & muddy for May & June (although we do get some nice days in there & begin to see hints of the sunshine again...which means that the kids want to play outside...a whole different story...Let me enlighten you. Go ahead..grab some coffee & a cookie. The kiddos want to go out & play & you think "why not..it's fairly warm in comparison to the blizzard like winds of a few weeks ago & the sun is shinning..may as well let them enjoy it. So, you send them out. You must suit them up in snow gear, because it's still covering the ground & freezing out there. This time they are able to walk by themselves as its only ankle deep on them now as opposed to neck deep...but now it's a wet, melting snow. So in about 10 minutes, give or take a few, they are at the door whining because they are soaked through their snow suits & freezing! And did I mention the mud...it's even funner to clean up than the dripping, melting snow. You must wash all the jackets, mittens, hats & snowsuits that are covered in mud. Completely redress the kiddos...even underwear are soaked(weather it's from melted, slushy snow or pee because they were afraid I'd yell at them if they told me they had to go pee after I had just spent 20 minutes per child to dress them, I'm not sure...& don't ask. Then you have to find somewhere ...in our very small space by the back door, which is also (thankfully!) our laundry area...to store the mud covered, dripping, boots till later today when they are bound to want to try it all over again!! And let me remind you while I'm washing muddy, soggy clothes my Floridian friends & family are now swimming..& posting pictures of beautiful barefooted babies playing under the sprinkler outside, all over facebook for me to enjoy..while *trying* to be content with my own circumstances!)...then gradually the ground starts to dry out & things start to bloom & turn green again...The days get warmer & warmer & by late July we can finally wear our summer clothes (in the daytime at least) then..by the end of August, it's cooling off again. As a matter of fact, for the last 2 years on Kaylee's birthday (Aug. 29th) I've worn a jacket! And this past year, it wasn't just me, a southern girl at heart, who was suited up...some of the native Idahoans (or at least had been born & raised in the northern parts of the world) had chattering teeth as well!
There are many memories of this winter wonderland (aka frozen tundra) that I will cherish forever though....should I ever escape it.....
*sliding through the railroad tracks down the road from our house once each winter before I realize "oh yeah, the roads are frozen for the next 8 months!" Nothing like those near death experiences to remind you to start stopping 1/4 mile before you get to where you need to stop at.
*shoveling the roof twice in one week. The second time all by myself in the rain...an accomplishment I'm quite proud of! Let me mention to my southern friends who have never shoveled snow...it's not all light & fluffy once it's been on the roof & partially melted & refrozen who knows how many times. It is quite the chore to chisel it off the roof
*not having to use the ladder to get down after I was done, because the snow was so high I could just step down.
*the time our snow blower broke during a snow storm & we couldn't get parts for over a week & we had to shovel the whole driveway (it's not a short one!) by hand...only to have it snow more that night! I must add though, that a friend showed up the next day & plowed for us & we were spared hand shoveling again!
*taking our little Mitsubishi car out to a empty parking lot & pulling the emergency brake to send the car spinning..much to the kids delight!
and so many more...

It's now a week or so later than when I started this post..I'm officially in panic mode now. Today it's super cold (as in 17) out & super windy..the kids are thrilled that there is snow on the ground & are hounding me to go play in it :-/

While I do struggle during the very long winter months here (that never seem to end!) I am so thankful for my nice warm house, wood heat & the wonderful hubby that builds fires in it for me, 2 woodsheds full of firewood, Kaylee & Trevor's great imaginations (as they will be needing those to come up with things to do inside!) good friends to keep me going....and a super cute baby girl to take my mind off whats going on outside!!

So, if you are reading this & happen to be one of those people that just loves this time of year..please remember that I'm from Florida (THE SUNSHINE STATE!!!) & just love me in spite of my complaining about the weather here...or ignore me for the next 6 months!

* The picture above is what the sky looks like on most days here.. gray, for as far as you can see.

Monday, November 15, 2010

Where to start......





It's been so long since I've been on here! I was thinking the other day that I really don't need to blog. Everyone that reads this blog has a facebook page & can keep track of us there....right??

Where do I begin?? Our sweet baby girl arrived on September 27th. I can't believe it's been nearly 2 months ago now! She is such a joy to us all. She's smiling & cooing & growing so fast. She is developing her own little personality & we have so much fun with her. Kaylee & Trevor often fight over who will hold her...or who will sing to her..or who will bounce her in her bouncy seat. The phrase "don't fight over the baby!!" is a common one in our house. Kaylee & Trevor both are great at helping out with her. All Avery has to do is whine a little & they are both at her side poking her pappy (pacifier) back in for her.

We started our school year back before Averyanna arrived. We took a small (3 week!) vacation & then picked it back up again. Kaylee is in 2nd grade & doing great! She amazes me how much & how quickly she learns. Trevor is in Kindergarten. I had thought at the beginning of the school year that I wouldn't do a whole lot with him..(he's still 4 & so would not actually be starting K, if he were in public school) I would just do some fun activities & worksheets with him...well, he decided otherwise! From the very beginning he was hounding me constantly to 'do more school'. Everything I gave to him he devoured & asked for more. I couldn't keep him busy. So, Chad & I decided to go ahead & start him on his Kindergarten curriculum. He loves it & is doing great. He's already reading...so proud of him. Kaylee is a huge help with him too & teaches & helps with his schooling a lot. She is such a 'little mommy'. I don't know what I would do without her!

My momma & sister came for a visit a few weeks ago. They were here for my birthday. It's the first time in probably about 10 years that I've got to spend a birthday with them! Nana & Aunt Rudy introduced the kiddos to computer games & squishing money on the railroad tracks!

Well, those are my (quite random) updates for now.....here's a few pictures..

PS. Just in case you didn't see Avery's newborn pics, here's the link!

http://burnettphotography.zenfolio.com/p969691691

Sunday, September 5, 2010

7 already!?



It doesn't seem like we should have a 7 year old little girl! She's grown so quickly! Kaylee brings such joy to our lives. She's a very sweet little girl & we're so blessed to have her!♥
On Kaylee's birthday (August 29th) we celebrated by having friends over after church, cake & ice cream & a princess castle pinata! It was quite an interesting day weather wise. It was quite chilly at times & we got lots of wind, a little rain & a little sunshine. We made the most of it though! Hope you enjoy the pictures. :)




Lots of fun decorating the cake...ok, decorating their faces, but still..lots of fun!


She'd been wanting a basket for her bike for quite a while.

A little Daddy time....





Happy 7th Birthday Kaylee Grace!!

all lined up for a balloon game...
And what day would be complete without a Ranger ride around the yard with Daddy!?

Wednesday, August 18, 2010

Where does the time go?!

I've been noticing more & more lately that my sweet little kiddos are not so little anymore! Kaylee will be 7 in 4 more days. I just got her 2nd grade...yup, SECOND GRADE!! school supplies in yesterday. They are both doing so many 'big kid' things now...climbing waayyy high in the trees, doing 'tricks' on their bikes...I'm not such a laid back sort of person & would like to just tell them "no, you're not allowed to do that!" But, I so remember my love for climbing trees when I was little..& well, Chad assures me that riding their bikes down the porch steps is just as 'normal' & good for them..& that I have to let them do these things! Trevor has been wanting to play soccer, so we just got him all signed up for the fall season. And thinking about letting them participate in gymnastics after the baby comes...but still I ask myself ...how can they be old enough for all these things??? It just doesn't seem possible!


Lord, please help me soak in every little second I have with these not so little blessings that you have given me. Help me to focus on the things that are real & important....help me to teach them Your truths...

my sweet little guy helping me take in all the groceries!
A friend let the kiddos pick veggies from her garden AND make a mess of her kitchen making salads! Kaylee & Trevor couldn't wait to get home & eat their salads!

So thankful for the calm moments when they play (non scary things!!) together! I hope they are always such good friends!

Monday, August 2, 2010

Camping!

Well, it's finally summer here in North Idaho (aka, the frozen tundra) and we are making the most of it. We've been camping for 2 weekends in a row. Where do I get the energy? I don't! I'm totally exhausted, but loving every minute of it! We've had a blast. We're home now, all unpacked, laundry done & put away & back to 'real life.'

I've been thinking about school a lot lately. We'll start up our homeschooling again around the beginning of September, so getting close to time to get our books ordered. We're also counting down the days till Kaylee's birthday on the 29th. She is super excited, as any little girl should be! :) AND........ we're counting down the days till our next baby girl arrives..about 8 weeks to go now. I'm feeling rather 'done' & so thankful for the business of summer activities to keep me occupied!

Moonlight on Priest Lake, our first camping trip. Chad cooking up some bacon!

Priest Lake was such a beautiful place!! There is just something about water & mountains meeting that I love! The downfall...the water is quite chilly! We had our 'own' little water access just below our campsite. The water was waist deep for so far out & there were huge rocks in it. Lots of fun!




The kiddos had a blast filling the dump truck with rocks & dirt & sending it flying down the hill.

And what campout would be complete without s'mores?


Trevor & Kaylee relaxing in the pool between campouts.

Our second camping trip was the annual Church Campout. We had lots of fun there as well with our church family! I didn't get as many pictures though. We were camping on one end & the beach area was down on the other end...so the less we had to pack down each time, the better!

Chad & I woke up early (because it was raining!!) & I was able to get these great shots of the sunrise!

Wednesday, June 23, 2010

Waiting on Summer .....

These two love it outside & play so great together ....most of the time! ;)

So, here's my attempt at my first 'real' blog. I must admit it has taken me a while to put this together & it's rather random, but I'm hoping it gets a little easier each time. It was hard to decide what to talk about this go around..but here are a few highlights..


My Momma & Grandpa (PaPa) came for a visit in May. I can't believe it's been a month now since they were here! They drove all the way up from Florida. I wish I could have kept them here longer, but we were so glad that they came!

Trevor really took to Papa & loved wrestling with him. Trevor insisted that Papa "pull his toes" every day. It was really fun to see Papa doing some of the things with my own kids that he did with me when I was little!

Kaylee, of course clung to her Nana!



Another highlight of the 'summer' is the Combine Derby. This year was our 3rd year attending & was extra special because some friends hooked us up with a hotel stay & went to the derby with us. It's about a 3 hour drive from our house so it was super sweet to get up & only have to drive an hour to get to the derby. Plus, the kiddos had a BLAST in the pool where we stayed. They both love the water, but only if it's fairly warm...so that rules out most of the water here..unless it's in the tub!








These are a few pictures from the parade before the Combine Derby. It's a total redneck event & we feel right at home! I don't have any pictures from the actual derby, but you get the idea. They actually just ram into each other until they fall apart & can't go anymore. It's pretty impressive. Our favorite part of the whole thing is the grain truck race during the middle of the show. They race old grain trucks around the rather small arena. If you get passed then you're out. It's a blast & there is always at least one that gets flipped! So far, it's always been a super hot sunny day when we go & did I mention it's really dusty & dirty? Trevor loves taking along his tractors & making mud to drive them in. Kaylee uses cups & spoons & makes 'food' for us all to try. We all leave black from the dirt & grime & thoroughly exhausted..but happy!

This red one is "Frank" from the movie Cars & was Kaylee & Trevor's favorite.



The kids left with gobs of candy. This little pile was only the beginning!








We are three days into summer here now, but it's not feeling very summery to our family! I'm thinking seriously of putting out a distress call for family to come & get us! ;)

We had a great Fathers' Day weekend. We are so blessed to have such a great Daddy!! Doesn't he look like he's having a blast?






And finally our sweet little boy just learned to ride his bike without training wheels (or 'on 2 wheels' as he calls it!) yesterday!
His training wheel broke on one side & he decided to just climb onto Kaylee's bike. She helped him get started & off he went! So, I took his trainers off & he's loving it. I have to say he's not very cautious & has ran into the side of the garage & his Daddy's car already & has several scrapes & bruises, but it's not slowing him down one bit!